DIY Filter Holder for Nikon’s AF-S 14-24mm ƒ/2.8 G Lens

I have had this wonderful lens for sometime but I am never able to use it because I love using filters but this lens has no standard way of fitting a Lee or Cokin Filter holder. I know Lee will be launching a new filter system for this lens  in June but I am a very inpatient person and I think it will be over £300+VAT just for the holder and maybe 1x filter!  So I was thinking I can make one for much less and still decent quality. and it can take the 130mm / 170mm Grad filters that Lee & Cokin Make. below is a list of key ingredients you will need.

1x Cokin X Pro Filter Holder

1x Cokin Universal Adapter ring

black Telescopic Circular Tubing

thin Black plastic sheet / or black card

Thin foam + spray adhesive

I have posted some photos of my filter holder below, I have only had a quick test and there is no cut off at 16mm on a FX Camera so a DX would be ok for sure.

I am going to head out tonight and get some landscape test shots so will post the results later.


6 responses to “DIY Filter Holder for Nikon’s AF-S 14-24mm ƒ/2.8 G Lens

Leave a comment