Iceland Adventure

I have recently returned from an inspirational trip to Iceland, I went with fellow photographers Antony Spencer & Aaron Bennett. We picked up the hire car at Keflavik airport at 1am and headed south east to Jökulsárlón glacial Lagoon. It was not long before we spotted the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights) and what should have been a 5 hour drive soon turned into an epic 9 hour journey stopping off to photograph waterfalls &  Aurora Borealis underneath light provided by the full moon. When we did finally reach the beautiful Jökulsárlón glacial lagoon  it was time to wake up and get stuck in to this beautiful place.


Aurora Borealis over Jökulsárlón glacial Lagoon

Its not easy photographing this beautiful event as you want to keep your shutter speed fast to retain the detail in the dancing Aurora but a higher ISO means more noise, and a smaller aperture causes loss of sharpness throughout the image and vignetting. You need to split the difference on all the settings to strike the best balance for the scene.

While photographing the Northern Lights over the glacial lagoon you would think it would be silent but the playful family of seals had other ideas. I wished I had a 500mm Lens to pick up some pictures of the seals relaxing on the icebergs. Maybe next time…..


This was one of the 4 hour long sunsets I really liked the contrast between the frozen iceberg and the golden sunset rays. The colours may look stong in this one but I have actually reduced the colour as it was clipping!


I really tried to get some nice detail shots of the shapes sculpted in the ice. I used my Nikon 200mm to get as close as possible. again something longer would have come in handy.

If you ever get the opportunity to go to Iceland grab it with both hands it is indeed an amazing place, as are the people. I just love the hotdogs they serve in the petrol stations!
On the long journey back to the airport we stopped off to quickly shoot the sea stacks at Vik even though it is indeed a cliché shot its always nice to have your own version to hang on the wall at home.

I am looking forward to getting some of my Aurora images printed it will be interesting to see what paper will suit them best. I am sure my printer Jack Lowe will have lots great advice on this matter.

Tech stuff
On this trip I was mainly using a Canon 5dii with Nikon and Ziess Lenses with an adapter in the middle to make it all work. I am not a big fan of the 5dii as I find it very noisy even at low ISO’s compared to my Nikon D700 but I really wanted the extra resolution that the 5dii has to offer to make slightly larger prints.

6 responses to “Iceland Adventure

Leave a Reply

