The Joy of Low Light Photography

Recently I have been involved in projects that involve some serous low light photography. I thought I would write a quick blog about the equipment & software I have been using to help me get quite usable results.

The most recent project was Unfolding theatre’s Building palaces. This was a very dark multi room promenade show with the light going from very bright to complete darkness. It was a challenge so I decided to arm myself with a 2x Nikon D700’s both with Nikkor high quality fast primes. Camera no1 was fitted with the New Nikkor 24mm ƒ/1.4  G ED and Camera no2 was fitted with the classic Nikkor 85mm ƒ1.4 AF D, Even with with using very fast glass my ISO was between 100 & 6400! so no matter what camera you are using with maybe the exception of the D3s I was still going to get bags of noise. But thats where the amazing noise reduction from CS5 comes into play. I am extremely impressed with this software it is amazing just watching the noise disappear,

Below are some examples of my lowlight work for Building palaces.

ISO 1000 ƒ/1.6

ISO 1000 ƒ/1.6

ISO1600  ƒ/1.8

ISO 1000 ƒ/1.8

5 responses to “The Joy of Low Light Photography

Leave a Reply

